Mr. Valadie's January Message

January, 2020

To all our ND Families –

   Greetings from Notre Dame! I was beginning to wonder if it was ever turning cold … had to get here sometime though, right? Now – as all self-respecting principals do – I begin hoping for a snow day!

   Many, many thanks to everyone who helped support our Catholic Schools Raffle Raffle this Fall. All counted, our schools sold in excess of $180,000 worth of tickets. And here at NDHS, we sold almost 2,000 alone. Nine of the ten schools sold one of the 12 winning tickets and our congratulations go to Wendy Kelly who claimed one of the $750.00 prizes. Thank you again. You make us better.

   This Sunday, we will host the year’s second Admissions Open House (2:00 p.m.) to kick off Catholic Schools Week! Every school knows that it’s the voices of our current parents that have the greatest and most effective impact on a prospective family’s decision-making. Thank you for spreading the word like only you know how!

  Hoping you’ll make plans to attend this year’s Green & Gold Gala, set for Saturday evening, Feb 22nd at Stratton Hall. It was a good time last year, but Kathy Martin and our committee have been working full-steam to make this one even better. It’s an evening of food and fun and friends. Tickets are available through our Main Office with all proceeds helping to improve student-centered technology.

   I can’t believe I’m saying this but our Junior-Senior Prom will be here before long (April 18th) and I’m sure the dress purchasing frenzy has begun. A few things to know: (a) outside dates need to be registered ahead of time; (b) freshmen cannot attend; and (c) please know that modesty in dress is critical though sometimes hard to find in today’s stores. We don’t want to deny anyone the opportunity to enjoy an evening with their friends but there’s too much out there that’s just not acceptable. Any questions or concerns, just ask. 

   You’ll find a listing of next year’s major calendar dates at the end of this month’s letter.

   Some refrigerator post-it notes:

< > Sun, Jan 26 … Admissions Open House, 2:00 p.m.

< > Sun, Jan 26 … Catholic Schools Week begins

< > Sat, Feb 1 … FAFSA is due for all seniors

< > Wed, Feb 5 … Junior Parents Spaghetti Supper/PSAT Score Review/College Process Preview, 5:45 p.m.

< > Fri, Feb 7 … Parent / Teacher Conference Day (details to follow)

< > Sat, Feb 8 … Admissions Testing for current 8th graders, 8:00 a.m.

< > Wed, Feb 12 … 10th Grade Retreat at Sts. Peter & Paul Church, 8:30-1:30

< > Fri, Feb 14 … Don’t forget Valentine’s Day!

< > Mon, Feb 17 … President’s Day (NO CLASSES)

< > Fri, Feb 21 … NDHS will host a Medal of Honor recipient

< > Sat, Feb 22 … NDHS HOSTS GREEN & GOLD GALA

< > Tue, Feb 25 … Standardized Testing Day for grades 9/10/11 (details to follow)

< > Wed, Feb 26 … Ash Wednesday

 

*****

   If you’ve had occasion to touch base with school in the last week or so, you’ve noticed an old friend manning the front desk. Former ND staffer Gayle Schoenborn has been pitching in for my wife while she recuperates from foot surgery.

   Nancy’s doing remarkably well but the doctor said she can’t put any weight on it for two-plus weeks and can’t drive for two months. So I get to return the favor from when I had surgery a few years ago. Thus far, I’ve just left her in the house … it’s easier that way.

   We’ve gone from wheelchair to rolling walker and have now graduated to one of those knee roller things which is good because it was just the first day and I ran her and her wheelchair into one of our bathroom cabinets. Her foot will be fixed before that cabinet gets repaired.

   I mention her because I’ve been taken back by the hundreds of friends who have reached out to wish her well and offer their prayers. It wasn’t an accident, it wasn’t an emergency, just something she’s been needing to do. But wow! Facebook certainly makes that easier than it used to be but it still takes time – and thought.

   Given we’ve spent virtually our entire lives as part of one Catholic School or another, that’s where most of these friendships and connections were made. I see names of classmates – hers and mine – former students, former parents, some we see often, some we haven’t seen in forty years. And yet here they were. It’s funny how a simple “thumbs up” can put a smile on your face.

   Maybe this is true at other places, I can’t say it’s not. But it’s that feeling right there – family forever - that makes Catholic Schools Week more meaningful for me.

   Catholic Schools are all made of people though – people like you and your children, maybe your parents, maybe their parents. People who identify with and hold dear what we’re trying to accomplish. We couldn’t do it without you!

   Be careful in the snow!    

   George Valadie

   NDHS

 

2020-2021 Academic Calender

Thu, Aug 6 … Freshman/New Student Orientation

Fri, Aug 7 … 1st day of classes for all

Mon, Sep 7 … Labor Day Holiday

Fri, Sep 25 … Teacher Inservice (No classes)

Mon, Oct 12 … Week of Fall Break begins

Wed, Nov 25 … Thanksgiving Vacation begins

Sat, Dec 19 … Christmas Vacation begins

Tue, Jan 5 … Classes resume

Mon, Jan 18 … MLK, Jr Holiday

Fri-Mon, Feb 12-15 … Presidents Day Weekend (No classes)

Fri-Mon, Mar 12-15 … Long Weekend (No classes)

Thu, Apr 1 … Holy Thursday (1/2 day of classes)

Fri, Apr 2 … Good Friday (No classes)

Mon, Apr 5 … Easter Vacation begins (No classes)

Mon, Apr 12 … Classes resume

Sun, May 16 … Graduation

Fri, May 21 … Last day of underclass exams